top of page

Coaching from the Stands the Negatives Effects

Have you every noticed parents coaching their kids from the stands? Since starting my journey as an Athletic Administrator I have noticed that at nearly every game there is at least one parent trying to coach his or her son or daughter from the stands. I often watch how they act and think to myself, how can this person not realize what they are doing and how negatively their actions are effecting their child. Yet I have never stepped in and told the person to stop. What would I say? You are negatively impacting your students athletic experience? That sounds all good and well but in reality I have no experience parenting so how do I know how that parent is feeling? And so I keep to myself and just watch the parent. Recently I watched a video that was posted on the Positive Coaches Alliance website that hit this issue right on the nose. It comes from the perspective of someone who is at the pinnacle of sports who did not coach his son from the stands. Here is the video:


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page